DOST Secretary Montejo and NRCP President Cruz lead the conferment of awards to12 Filipino researchers at the DOST-NRCP 80th General Membership Assembly held on March 13, 2013 at the Manila Hotel

2012 NRCP Achievement Awardees. The said awarding ceremony recognized scientific works promoting the welfare of the nation and its citizenry and enriching the country’s knowledge in the 12 scientific disciplines. These include education and international policies, math, medicine, pharmacy, biology, agriculture and forestry, engineering and industry, physics, chemistry, earth and space sciences, veterinary, social sciences, and the humanities (Photo by Henry A. de Leon, S & T Media Service, DOST-STII)


The Department of Science and Technology - National Research Council of the Philippines (DOST-NRCP) recently honored 12 Filipino researchers in the 2012 NRCP Achievement Awards for their outstanding works and innovative discoveries. The awarding was held during the 80th General Membership Assembly last March 13 , 2013 at the historic Manila Hotel .

The awardees’ scientific works were recognized as tools promoting the welfare of the nation and the citizenry and enriching the country’s knowledge in the twelve scientific disciplines spanning basic, applied sciences and social sciences.

DOST Secretary Mario G. Montejo and NRCP President Dr. Lourdes Cruz handed out a gold medallion, plaque of recognition, and cash reward of Php 25,000.00 to each awardee.

Sec. Montejo also introduced to the researchers DOST’s latest umbrella program called “Smarter Philippines” and enjoined all researchers to harmonize their efforts to the program.

DOST-NRCP will be celebrating its 80th Foundation Anniversary on December 8, 2013

The awardees were:

Dr. Evelina M. Vicencio (Ph.D. University of Philippines Diliman), who was honored for her unwavering leadership and service to Philippine education with her intensive involvement in the development of peer-refereed publications and research reports that benefitted many Filipino learners.

Dr. Fidel R. Nemenzo (D.Sc. Mathematics. Sophia University, Japan), who was lauded for pioneering the development of research in applications to algebraic coding theory in the country and for elevating the status of Philippine mathematics through his engagements as visiting professor and researcher of many prestigious institutions.

Dr. Trinidad P. Trinidad (Scientist 2 of the Food and Nutrition Research Institute) whose pioneering studies on the bio-availability of minerals such as iron, zinc and calcium absorption and whose work on the use of coconut flour, root crops and legumes as sources of dietary fibers earned praises from DOST-NRCP.

Dr. Ireneo L. Lit Jr.
(Director of University of the Philippines–Los Baños Museum of Natural History), a taxonomist who earned recognition for his pioneering work in the field of coccidology and for his researches on effective management of pest insects including quarantine measures and control of household and food industrial pests.

Dr. Severino S. Capitan (Ph.D. Animal Physiology, Punjab Agricultural University) whose notable researches on artificial insemination and estrus synchronization which involves manipulation of cattle’s reproductive processes, led to significant genetic improvement and population increase among carabaos in the country.

Dr. Alvin B. Culaba (National Academy of Science and Technology Advisory Council Member) who was commended for his pioneering work on life cycle assessment methodology in the Philippines and Asia, and for his significant contributions and inspiring leadership in the formulation of national policies and the setting of directions for the growth and development of mission oriented scientific research in the country .

Dr. Nimfa B. Ogena (University of the Philippines Population Institute) , an outstanding researcher whose scholarly contributions span several substantive and methodological areas. Among the most notable were her works on women’s role in sustainable development, reproductive health and quantitative approaches for examining female status which have contributed to national and international policies.

Dr. Alipio T. Garcia (University of Philippines-Baguio), honored for his pioneering works in ultra –high vacuum –thin film growth in the country, his significant contribution in the field of material science and semiconductors, and his unwavering support for the development and promotion of physics education in the Philippines.

Dr. Florentino P. Sumera (Professor of Chemistry, Material Science and Engineering, UP-Diliman), for his work on the synthesis of coconut fatty acid derivatives for biofuels and biodegradable polymers with potential environmental and medical use.

Dr. Jose S. Buenconsejo (Department of Musicology, UP-Diliman) conferred for his in-depth, insightful research on the epistemology of an indigenous Filipino-Asiatic ritual as well as his documentation of indigenous Philippine musical traditions in the context of local cultural meanings.

Dr. Carina G. Lao (The Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration) for her expertise in the field of metrology as well as her scientific researches on the tropical cyclone tracks and unusual movements of typhoons, and

Dr. Jezie A. Acorda (UPLB College of Veterinary Medicine) who received the award for his significant contributions in the field of veterinary medicine specifically on medical imaging techniques and complementary alternative veterinary medicine such as acupuncture stimulation.

Established on December 8, 1933 through the passage of Act 4120 by the Ninth Philippine Legislature, the National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP) primarily aims to promote and support basic research in the country along various scientific disciplines including education and international policies, math, medicine, pharmacy, biology, agriculture and forestry, engineering and industry, physics, chemistry, earth and space sciences, veterinary, social sciences, and the humanities.

Pin It