news-philaast fetes outstanding filipino researchers-09292015

For their notable contributions and accomplishments in the field of science and technology, five researchers received awards by the Philippine Association for the Advancement of Science and Technology (PhilAAST) during its 64th annual convention held recently at the De La Salle University, Taft Avenue, Manila.

Dr. Grecebio Jonathan D. Alejandro was conferred the Gregorio Y. Zara Award for Basic Research for his pioneering research on Plant Molecular Phylogenetics in the Philippines and the discovery of novel genera and several new endemic species in Rubiaceae (coffee family) such as the Mussaendaustii in honor of UST (University of Santo Tomas). He is a full professor at the UST College of Science and current director of the Office of Graduate Research of the UST Graduate School.

Meanwhile, Gregorio Y. Zara Award for Applied Research was bestowed to Dr. Claro N. Mingala who is recognized as an outstanding veterinary research specializing on infectious diseases of water buffaloes (carabaos). He is a scientist in the Philippine Carabao Center National Headquarters and Gene Pool in Science City of Muñoz, Nueva Ecija.

Named after one of the country’s national scientists who made major advances in aeronautics, engineering and inventions, the Gregorio Y. Zara awards for Basic Science Research and for Applied Science Research were established by the Zara Family and PhilAAS in 1968.

Other awardees are as follows:

Dr. Ramon B. Gustilo, awardee of the Dr. Paulo C. Campos Award for Health, is one of the world’s leading experts in orthopedic surgery. He has developed an internationally recognized classification of open fractures known as Gustilo Classification of Open Fractures which is now being used by orthopedic surgeons worldwide in the management of open fractures. He also established one of the world’s pioneering and leading musculoskeletal and sepsis research unit that remains pre-eminent in the world of basic research and many other feats.

Dr. Nelly S. Aggangan, awardee of the Leads Agri Award for Agricultural Sciences, was cited for her exemplary work as a researcher and scientist in the area of agriculture and forestry. She was also instrumental in the improvement of “Mykovam,” a soil-based biological fertilizer, as a commercial product efficient in replacing expensive chemical fertilizers for the survival and growth of both agricultural and forest crops.

Meanhile, Dr. Joel Joseph S. Marciano Jr. received the David M. Consunji Award for his outstanding contributions as an engineering researcher. He is a professor of Electrical and Electronics Engineering at the Electrical and Electronics Institute of the University of the Philippines Diliman. A recipient of many awards, he is currently the interim director of the Institute for Information Infrastructure Development of the Philippine – California Advance Research Institutes (PCARI), a program of the Commission on Higher Education.

Each awardee received a gift cash of P50,000.00 from PhilAAST (formerly PhilAAS)—an association of scientists and technologists in the country established in 1951 which aims to promote the value of science in the community. (By Ma. Lotuslei P. Dimagiba, S&T Media Service, DOST-STII)

Pin It