The Department of Science and Technology Region II in Cagayan Valley received the prestigious national Philippine Quality Award (PQA) Recognition for Commitment to Quality Management (Level 1) during the conferment ceremonies of the 17th Philippine Quality Awards at Malacañang Palace on September 22, 2015.   

Assistant Secretary Dr. Urdujah A. Tejada  with DOST-II Officer-in Charge  Engr. Sancho A. Mabborang  received the PQA Trophy from President Benigno S. Aquino III. Dr. Tejada was the incumbent DOST-II Regional Director during the PQA application.

"We are recognizing your pursuit of quality in the most profound sense of the word—because it does not only mean a stronger institution, a larger share in the market, or a higher quality of performance, but an infinitely higher quality of life for more Filipinos," President Aquino said in his keynote speech.

The Philippine Quality Award is the country’s highest level of recognition given to government and private organizations for performance excellence equivalent to the very prestigious Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Program of the Unite States. The PQA focuses on seven criteria categories: (1) leadership; (2) strategic planning; (3) customer focus; (4) measurement, analysis, knowledge management; (5) workforce focus; (6) process management; and (7) results.

The DOST office in Cagayan Valley is the first national government agency in Region II accorded with the PQA award and the only government sector awardee in the 17th PQA Cycle.  Other Level 1 awardees were the Colegio de San Juan de Letran-Manila and the Lyceum of the Philippines-Laguna.

Meanwhile, Level 2 awardees were SMC Yamamura Fuso Molds Corporation; ROHM Electronics Philippines, Inc.; and STMicroelectronics Inc.

“DOST-II’s relentless efforts to achieve (excellent) organizational performance (lies) on believing in the human capital, placing the highest importance to its workforce, (and) enhancing  their learning skills in order to provide quality service to its customers,” according to DOST-II’s statement.

“Also, the reason behind DOST-II’s successes it had achieved is along the lines ‘We are a  platoon, but we work like a battalion.’ And as a team, whatever success is celebrated, valuing contributions done by everyone, living by the tagline ‘Working Together, Sharing Together, Celebrating Together,’” the statement also said.
DOST-II started working on attaining PQA  with the creation of its Performance Excellence Team, putting in place the ISO 9001 Quality Management and the ISO/IEC 17025:2005 of its Chemical and Microbiological and Metrology testing laboratories. Apart from the ISO/IEC 17025:2005, the DOST-II laboratories also pursued other certifications and accreditation from regulatory bodies like the Department of Environment and Natural Resources-Environmental Management Bureau; Department of Health-Food and Drug Administration; and the Department of Health. (S&T Media Service)

news-dost2gets pqa1-10112015

news-dost2gets pqa2-10112015 news-dost2gets pqa3-10112015

President Benigno S. Aquino III confers the Recognition for Commitment to Quality Management to the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) – Region II, represented by Assistant Secretary Dr. Urdujah Tejada and DOST Region II Assistant Director and Officer-In-Charge Sancho Mabborang.(Photos by the Malacañang Photo Bureau.)


news-dost2gets pqa4-10112015
DOST-II PQA Team – (Back, L-R): Engr. Marcelo G. Miguel, provincial director of DOST’s Provincial Science and Technology Center (PSTC)- Isabela; Engr. Jonathan R. Nuestro, provicial director of PSTC Nueva Vizcaya; Engr. Sancho A. Mabborang, OIC of the Office of the Regional Director; and Lucio G. Calimag, OIC of PSTC Quirino.  Front (L-R):  Jessamyn B. Jadulos, center manager for training; Nora T. Garcia, provincial director of PSTC-Batanes; Mary Ann P. Maglasin, assistant regional director of Finance and Administrative Support Services;  Virginia G. Bilgera, center manager for SETUP; Dr. Urdujah A. Tejada, assistant secretary and program manager for Countryside Development; Victoria B. Mabborang, planning officer; Dr. Teresita A. Tabaog, provincial director of PSTC-Cagayan; and Engr. Sylvia T. Lacambra, center manager for Regional Standards and Testing Laboratory.

Pin It