news ph to host the 17th science council of asia confab 07152016
1) NSSL President Kumar hands over the SCA flag to NRCP President, NS Gomez which officially marks the Philippines hosting of the 2017 SCA. 2) NRCP President NS Gomez is with NSSL President, Dr. Vijaya Kumar, and SCJ Secretary General, Dr.  Hiroshi Yoshino. 3) SCA Management Board Meeting with Executive Director Marieta Bañez Sumagaysay and President, National Scientist Edgardo D. Gomez  as principal representatives of the Council.

The Philippines, through the National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP), will host the 17th Science Council of Asia (SCA) Conference in June next year. The Conference will be participated in by delegations of renowned researchers and scientists from 31 academic institutions and organizations of the 18 member countries across Asia.

NRCP President and National Scientist Edgardo D. Gomez and NRCP Executive Director Dr. Marieta Bañez Sumagaysay officially received the SCA flag in a simple turn-over rite during the 16th SCA Conference last May 30 – June 1, 2016 at Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Immediate Past President and concurrent SCA President Prof. Vijaya Kumar turned over the SCA country-hosting post to NRCP President Gomez during said conference.

The conference, with the theme Science for the People: Mobilizing Modern Technologies for Sustainable Development in Asia, served as the venue for scientific exchange and cooperation among Asian scholars. 

In 2017, the science congress will particularly focus on the efficient and effective application of science, technology, and innovation in reinforcing inclusive growth and development, providing equitable and better opportunities for all economic players on the gains of economic growth and development, NRCP President Gomez added.

The SCA officers who will be in office June 1, 2016 - June 16, 2017 are President - Aminul Islam (President, Bangladesh Academy of Sciences); Vice President - Edgardo D. Gomez (National Research Council of the Philippines); Immediate Past President - Vijaya Kumar (National Academy of Sciences of Sri Lanka); Secretary General/Treasurer - Hiroshi Yoshino (Council Member, Science Council of Japan).

Last June 2010, the Philippines hosted the 10th SCA Conference through NRCP which was then led by NRCP Immediate Past President and SCA President, Dr. Jaime C. Montoya and NRCP President Alvin B. Culaba.

Pin It