The Department of Science and Technology (DOST) will celebrate the annual National Science and Technology Week (NSTW) from 25 to 29 July 2016, with the Philippine Council for Health Research and Development (PCHRD) leading the Metro Manila Health Science Community (MMHSC).

NSTW is held every July to give recognition to outstanding accomplishments and personalities in science and technology (S&T). Earlier celebrations focused on the eight outcomes of DOST in the areas of agriculture; micro, small, and medium enterprises (MSMEs); industry; information technology - business process management (IT-BPM); e-government services; health; education; and climate change and disaster preparedness. 

With the overall theme “Juan Science. One Nation,” this year’s NSTW will be simultaneously celebrated in various regions of the country. Commemorative ceremonies and activities highlighting the contribution of S&T to national development are expected.

“For the NSTW 2016, PCHRD partnered with the DOST-Food and Nutrition Research Institute (FNRI) and the Metro Manila Health Research and Development Consortium (MMHRDC) to form the MMHSC and showcase DOST’s latest projects and technologies on health and nutrition,” explained PCHRD Executive Director Jaime Montoya.

The MMHSC will hold an open house exhibit at SM MOA Atrium to feature technologies on health such as eHATID, RxBox, Axis Knee System, and Biotek-M. Among the activities to be conducted also are natural products forum, mental health awareness among teenagers, health apps webinar, traditional medicine forum, nutrition counseling, and nutrition survey forum.

With the theme “Kalusugan ni Juan at Juana. Kalusugan ng Bayan,” the MMHSC hopes to inspire government and private sectors in supporting and creating similar initiatives in improving the national economy and lives of the citizens.

“We are very excited for this year’s S&T week. Through the help of MMHRDC, we gathered the participation of some universities in Metro Manila to conduct activities presenting current issues and concerns on health in the country,” added Dr. Montoya.

Among these universities are University of Santo Tomas, De La Salle University, University of the East Ramon Magsaysay Memorial Medical Center, University of the Philippines Manila, and Saint Luke’s Medical Center.

For more information on MMHSC events for the NSTW, contact Ms. Ladylove May Baurile at 837-0031 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. You can also “like” DOST PCHRD on Facebook and follow us on Twitter (@DOST_PCHRD) to get the latest updates.

Pin It