Science and technology (S&T) scholars from the Eastern Visayas received awards from the Department of Science and Technology- Region 8 for outstanding accomplishments in academics. The awarding night, titled “In Touch With Excellence”, was held May 10 at the Hotel Alejandro. Awarded for academic excellence were five magna cum laudeand 17 cum laude graduates, including five board placers, from various state tertiary schools in the region.

The five S&T scholars who graduated magna cum laude were: Ben Fermin Q. Abuda (Eastern Samar State University [ESSU] – Borongan), Niel Darryl G. Branzuela (Northwestern Samar State University – Calbayog), Carl Aljon M. Lacaba (Eastern Visayas State University – Tacloban), Geralyn U. Ando (Visayas State University [VSU] – Isabel Campus), all BSED-Mathematics majors; and Ryan Dave Sugano (BS Chemistry, Visayas State University).

Meanwhile, three of the board placers aced the Geodetic Engineering licensure exams and were all from VSU: Engr. Rex R. Doñoz (topnotcher, 2015), Engr. Romer S. Bongbonga (Rank 4, 2015), and Engr. Rey Mark L. Alfante (Rank 6, 2014). 

Darwin C. Gomez of the Eastern Visayas State University (EVSU), meanwhile, placed 8th in the 2012 Chemistry board exam and Sung Shin Woong-ill of the Leyte Normal University (LNU) ranked 10th in the 2015 Licensure Examination for Teachers.

The 17 others who graduated cum laude include: BSED-Mathematics majors Alison V. Senobio (University of Eastern Philippines – Catarman), Jessamay B. Jabien (Samar State University – Catbalogan), Jefrey D. Asadon (ESSU – Borongan), Rosary N. Librillaand Ruby Rose Anne B. Panganod (LNU), and Jenilyn E. Samaco (VSU).

Cum laude awardees include scholars from the VSU, namely Bernadeth P. Balonga and Mary Jaica Maghanay (Food Technology), Jovie Mariel L. Degorio (BSED Physical Science), and Rabigh F. Kangleon, Mary Grace Z. Saldino, Ryan Dave Sugano (BS Chemistry). Other cumlaude awardees were from LNU, namely Neuville Florinth Lucrese D. Abenis (BS Biology), Ma. Lucille W. Abarracoso (BSED- Physical Science), and Nikko R. Fernandez and Eduardo P. Sivellita (BS Biology).

Other awardees were Carlo D. Jarito (BS Electrical Engineering, EVSU-Ormoc) and Wency M. Dagayloan (BS Chemistry, EVSU-Tacloban).

Meanwhile, DOST-8 gave a toast to its staff achievers who completed their graduate studies. Recognized were Lucia P. Dauz and John Glenn D. Ocaña (Doctor of Management Technology), Amado T. Amasco Jr and Veronica A. Laguitan (Master in Public Management), Debbie G. Delmo (Master of Public Management), Romeo L. Dignos (Master in Food Science and Technology), and Master of Technology Management (MTM) graduates Emiel Prisco N. Discar, Maria Catherine B. Gonda, and Isabelita M. Pamposa. 

Other MTM graduates namely Emmanuel E. Lagdamen, Florentino L. Quiñones, Marilyn O. Radam, Evelyn B. Tablante, and Ramil T. Uy were awarded the Gawad Parangal para sa Mag-aaral.

Dr. Josette Biyo, director of DOST’s Science Education Institute which handles S&T scholarships, encouraged all the awardees to pursue their dreams. Sharing her own personal experience of never giving up despite poverty, she narrated how she pursued all opportunities to be able to get scholarships to move on to higher studies.

“Never give up,” she advised the awardees. She related how her never-give-up attitude helped her get the title as the first Asian winner of the Intel Excellence in Teaching Award.

“I had no laptop to use for presentation. What I had were transparencies, manila papers, even thumb tacks,” she told of her story during the US-held competition, eliciting laughter from the audience. She said she went around, asking other contenders to lend her a laptop until she found one kind soul. 

Eventually, this teacher which came prepared for “low-tech” demonstration, proved she was also prepared for a “high-tech” one, and brought home laurels for the country, including a planet found between Mars and Jupiter named after her.

Engr. Edgardo Esperancilla, DOST-8 regional director, likewise related the levelling up of DOST-8 scholars in terms of academic achievement. 

“In 2003 when I came in, we only had 50 scholars; now we have 752. And 80 percent of our staff have completed their graduate studies,” he announced proudly.

news dost eastern visayas scholars shine in academics 05122016
IN TOUCH WITH EXCELLENCE | DOST-VIII Director Edgardo M. Esperancilla(leftmost) and DOST-Science Education Institute Director Josette T. Biyo (second from right) confer the excellence award to Ben Fermin Q. Abuda who graduated his BSED-Mathematics program from the Eastern Samar State University (ESSU)- Borongan campus, magna cum laude. Also in photo are ESSU President Edmundo A.Campoto and SEI Scholarships Chief Alicia L. Asuncion. Abuda later shared how his DOST scholarship helped him pursue and achieve excellence in his academics and develop social responsibility for his community.

Pin It